You Now Own My Heart

Standard

I started wandering as you let me explore this world
I read and write. I ask and respond.
I feed my hungry mind with all the knowledge I can consume.
I listen to all the stories I can take a hold of; voluntarily shared to me.
I am happy.

By this freedom that you have bequeathed upon me
I know I will learn. I know I will make mistakes.
I know that I will be hurt. I know I will feel pain.
But aren’t these worth it?
For by then, I know I have gained wisdom and experience.

But each passing day, I started to feel empty still.
Despite this vast ideas, despite these varied experiences,
I am still unsatisfied. My thirst is still not quenched.
And I started reflecting why.
Then, I understand.

My life is not entirely about language; my life is not entirely about politics,
My life is not entirely about adventures; my life is not entirely about science,
My life is not entirely about a single field.
My life is not all about what’s in my mind but also what’s in my heart.
And that’s where I would discover soon enough.

My mind can go miles away, but my heart will always stay
To you I already surrender my heart, for I know you deserved it.
You earned it with every word you have said.
You earned it with every act you have shown.
You now own my heart.

Leave a Reply

